History


History of Kyle of Lochalsh

Kyle of Lochalsh is a small village located across the water from Kyleakin – a village on the Isle of Skye. Originally there was a ferry connecting Kyle of Lochalsh and Kyleakin, though in 1995 the Skye Bridge controversially replaced the ferry.

Kyle of Lochalsh is known to be a ‘capital’ of this area full of castles, lochs, hills and picturesque landscapes. It is the shopping and transport centre of this part of Lochalsh. Many travellers prefer to stay in Kyle of Lochalsh while traveling each day to and from local attractions such as Plockton village, Loch Carron, the Five Sisters of Kintail and walks in Glen Shiel, full of Jacobite history.

Kyle of Lochalsh – or “Kyle” as it is locally known – is on the railhead of the Inverness to Kyle of Lochalsh railway line, simply called the Kyle line. This connects Kyle with villages such as Duirinish, Plockton Achnasheen, Achnashellach, and Inverness itself. The end of the line is located almost at the sea line itself, and was created in 1897 in this way to connect railway travellers with the ferry that used to run from here.

The harbour with pontoons may be of interest to the maritime visitors.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Google Buzz

Comments are closed.